I have a lame LAME question

vbimport

I am new to using EAC and LAME. I formerly used Audio grabber, and Playcenter to rip and encode my music. I want to start using the LAME encoder to get the best possible MP3 but I don’t know where to begin. I started using RazorLAME which seemed to be a good front-end for LAME but I am now ready to move on. How do I get the “real” version of LAME 2.92 since it is only distributed in source code? Then how do encode using it? – without having to use another front end program if possible.

I have visited the home page and could not get any clear answers.

Any help would be appreciated.

hi,

have a look @ doom9.net or doom9.org.
You’ll find the newest compiled LAME-version 3.92 for Win32 under the section ‘download’.
For best usage, run LAME under the command line.

lame --longhelp | more

gives you the full options-listing and the pipe to more.com stops after every page so you can read the text without hurry ;-).

But you can use the LAME.DLL, included in the package, within EAC, too.

RazorLame IS the “real” LAME…

You already HAVE LAME 3.92 (or some other version), since RazorLame cannot do anything if you don’t have LAME.

You can see what version of LAME you have by clicking Actions -> View Last Log.

If you want to have absolute control over the LAME options you use, at the LAME Configuration panel choose “Expert” mode (I think it’s called expert, or maybe “Advanced”), this is a checkbox and if you check it it causes RazorLame to ignore ALL options except those you specify in the “Expert” text field.

This is the same as running LAME from the command line, only much prettier! :wink:

If you have the latest version of RazorLame, the options it uses are shown at the status bar at the bottom of the window. This way you can easily see what command line switches you use.

For the latest version of RazorLame, see
http://www.dors.de/razorlame