I desperately need help with making a copy of my master audio CD

[qanda]This thread is about the Acer Aspire 5612WLMi. Click here to see full specs[/qanda]Hello everybody, I’m new here and I know nothing about CDs or computers nor anything related to that.

I’m a musician and I’m going to realease an independent CD but I need some help with my master audio cd.

So here goes:

1. I have the master cd which I need to send to the pressing company. It is in cda format. The problem is when the studio where I recorded th songs gave me the master, they didn’t include the proper name of the songs, nor my name. So when I play it on Windows Media Player for example, the information that appears is “Unknow Album” and Track 1,2 etc…

I tried making a copy of it in Nero and included the names of the songs and my name as the artist but when i play it the copy still shows “Unknow Album”.

How do I add this information on the audio cd?

1. If I make a copy of the master using Nero will there be a loss of information/audio quality? I don’t want to send the original master to the pressing company because i only want a few songs on the master cd to be included in the pressed copies, and if I send it to them with all the songs they said they will have to make a new master with only the songs that i want - which will cost me more.

I really, really apreciatte any help you can give me. :slight_smile:

Peace to all

Gus

As far as I know, Windows Media Player does not look for CD-TEXT on the CD but looks up a “fingerprint” of the CD on an Internet database to see if it’s a well-known CD, and then downloads the artist, album and track information if available. There are other CD players that will use CD-TEXT information on the CD if present.

Nero 7 has had some problems burning audio CDs correctly, while Nero 6 had no such problem. I’m not sure about Nero 8 and Nero 9, but you may want to update to the latest minor version of the major version (i.e. 6,7,8,9) that you have.