I am looking for a new program to encode files after I've ripped them

Hello, this is my first post (other than my intro post in the intro forum) so please be gentle.

First, let me say that I’ve searched several sites, but I cannot find what I’m looking for.

Here’s my deal.

I’m a noob at this, so bear with me. I have DVD Decrypter for ripping/decoding, and I’ve had no problem with it so far. I’ve been using Nero 6 for burning, and I’ve successfully ripped and burned about 8 DVD movies with this combination (hey, I’ve only been at this for less than a week). I don’t know if I’ve been using it right, but it’s easy, and it has worked for me…

After I breaking the DVD down using DVD Decrypter, I go into Nero and click Recode DVD Video (Nero Recode 2). Then click import DVD and burn it.

The first few, I had no problem with, but then ran into some that wouldn’t burn. I read that there was a newer version of Nero, so I downloaded it, and it worked for the videos that I was having trouble with.

The problem is, I don’t want to pay $80 for the full version of Nero when I’m only going to use one small function of the software. What I want to know is, does anybody make a recoding software that works like the Nero recoder? I would like to find a freeware non-trial version if I can, but I don’t mind to pay for it if it’s affordable. Everything else that I’ve seen seems so much more complicated. If nobody else makes what I’m looking for, (just the re-coding software) is there anything that will show me what to do after using DVD Decrypter? Everything I keep running accross shows the whole process. I just want to keep it as simple as possible.

Please help?!? Thanks. I hope I don’t catch too much heat for asking a question that I’m sure is asked every day.

DVDshrink will recode &:
a) Write back to an image file for DVD Decryptor to burn
b) Write to disk with an approved burning program.