I am a total power burner looking for the highest quality DVD writer/media combo!

vbimport

Hey folks! My post count is only low because I just registered… I’ve actually been a regular reader of CDFreaks for many years now! I’ve had no need to register because I was always good at searching and finding already posted answers to my questions. :slight_smile:

I knew someday I’d have to ask a question though! So here’s my dilhema:

I burn DVDs for a living, at a rate of about 12-24 a day. For the longest time (about 1000+ burns) I’ve found extremely good results with my old faithful NEC ND-3540A and SONY16D1 media. Don’t worry, my burner’s been hooked up to a liquid cooling system… so I’ve never had to worry about my NEC getting too hot or anything like that. :slight_smile:

My problem is that my ND-3540A is on its last leg (I think), and I can’t risk being without a burner! So I’m doing some preventative maintenance and shopping around for my new drive before my old one gives out.

I only need to burn one type of DVD-R media, and I’m looking at using the TYGO2’s or 3’s. But if I can find a different media that works better with the drive I choose (perhaps MCC004’s or something) – than I’d have no trouble going that route too.

The poll contains the highest-quality models I have done my absolute best to research, through reading countless threads in this forum. If a model number needs changing (for instance maybe a Plextor 716 is better than a 760), please feel free to comment! I hope I picked the best of the best though…

Here’s what I DO care about:

[ul]
[li]RELIABILITY – a burner that’ll last awhile
[/li][li]HIGH QUALITY – burns with low PIE/PIF counts
[/li][/ul]

Here’s what I DON’T care about:

[ul]
[li]SPEED – I could care less how long it takes me to burn a DVD-R 4.7gb
[/li][li]BRAND – as long as it works, I’m good!
[/li][li]MEDIA – I don’t mind being limited to a few brands of media
[/li][/ul]