I am a newbie and want to talk about torrents and P2P

vbimport

Hi. I am a newbie. Nice to be on the forum.
K

Hello Kimberly, welcome to the forums.

I’m afraid you’ve started a thread on a fairly touchy topic for us. We cannot discuss [B]specific[/B] copyright protected material that is distributed illegally. That includes the vast majority of files found on torrent sites and through usenet groups.

You should probably look through our guide for copyright protected material: http://club.myce.com/f34/guidelines-copyright-protected-material-316049/

If you wish to discuss P2P or usenet in the abstract, that is within our rules, but as I said, any mention of specific movies or other copyright protected material will lead to the thread being closed.

I personally don’t have experience with usenet, but someone else may show up and give you some pointers.

Usenet was originally developed as a discussion system where people would ‘post’ to a group (similar to a threads in a forum). Now it is largely used for posting files. Unlike P2P the files are stored on a commercial server, giving far greater speeds. The range of files stored across Usenet is slightly less than what you might be able to find looking through P2P networks.

There are many different providers of Usenet access. There are cheaper services like AstraNews (~$10/month) and more expensive services like Giganews ($30/month). The main advantage of ‘premium’ providers is that files uploaded aren’t deleted for much longer (the ‘retention’ period). Giganews hasn’t deleted posts in ~4 years. More expensive providers also offer better speeds and higher ‘completion’ rates (the amount of data that isn’t damaged). It is really a matter of finding what service suits your needs & budget.