HW Cataclysm

Dear community!

Please accept apologies for pointing out a problem which obviously has already been treated in the past. Being a complet newbie, I didn’t understand what those experts mean (read subs, hide cdr media,…). At least I figured out that a running copy of Homeworld Cataclysm (Securom) can be easily made (which is my concern) - however that’s still too difficult for me. I own two Plextors, a DVD/CD reader PX-116A2 and a DVD/CD writer PX-712A and usually run Nero SE. Already made several images, and burned them to CD, using different options (Data-CD, userdefined with and without read errors …) getting totally confused at the end, so I decided to take that way.

Many thanks for your kind help, nD.

Nero cannot be used to copy protected games. Download and read this guide to help you further!

Wecome NothaDavid,

creating a backup of this game which is using SecuROM 4.08.00.0026 isn’t a big deal. As Ocky posted Nero ‘won’t’ do the job (I’m not quite sure about this as it also can handle older SafeDisc versions) and downloading the cdfreaks offline help will open your mind :p. You may try BlindWrite, CloneCD or Alcohol all of them will do the job easily.

Thank your for your great help, that was a real nice welcome, and - yes, I made it!

So I feel totally motivated right now, however, my next task appears to be a challenge. Spellforce (Order of dawn). Yes, already found some messages, but that’s too high for me. People are using some mix of Alcohol and Bliindwrite and Twinpeaks and RMPS and … Surprisingly, I also found out that a mechanism (in Spellforce’s case SecuROM) would be updated to a higher version, when you’re patching a game, which is the usual way to stay happy with an old buy! Therefore all those hints, found in the forum, for a Spellforce 1.03 copy may be completely outdated since it’s now at 1.38!?

Please allow a final question: Emulations, as they are e.g. found in D-tools or Alcohol, do they slow down the game-play itself?