Humble pestering about subtitles

Hi! I’m just getting into all this, and I submit willfully and with awe to the vast expanse of knowledge available here! : )
Now that I have customarily flattered my betters, I proceed to bother them to wipe my rear for me… I have had some luck encoding various things, converting things, etc. but one issue (and you perhaps have already guessed which one) seems a little complicated to me. I have been encoding and converting files to view on a seperate DVD player which reads data discs, but cannot find the right software or whatever I need to I guess “marry” or somehow permanently combine subtitles with video. Nothing fancy like menus or anything, I just want to stamp the subs right on the video permanently. I need to do this exactly once, so instead of learning for myself like a smart person, here I am pestering. : )
I thank you in advance for any suggestions! :bigsmile:

It’s me again. It’s the next morning and I’m starting to understand what I need to do here… or not… The movie I want to add subs to (not to play on the computer, but on a DVD player) is in AVI, and the subs I want to add are in SRT. I tried a couple of programs that seemed promising, but I think they are just for watching the film with subs on the computer. Is that correct? I’ll keep playing around in the meantime, but as always, thanks in advance for any help! : )

~Sabin

i wish i knew how to help you, but unfortunately i don’t have the information.

with such a polite and patient query though I figure the least i can do is give you a bump in hopes that someone will come along.

sometimes it takes longer than others, but most questions DO get answered on the forum, i promise! in the meantime keep experimenting with stuff! too many people post then sit by the computer rather than try to solve their own problem so kudos to you for that :slight_smile: