HP Laptop Windows Install

vbimport

Hi Everyone,
I have just purchased a new HP DV7-1195ER, it has windows Vista Home Premiumconfused installed, but only in Russian. I also have a HP DV1621ea, with XP Pro in english, original installation.
I was wondering if somehow it is possible to install XP form my old laptop to my new laptop,(I want to install XP on the DV7 is it possible).:confused:
Any info on this greatly appreciated, I am a novice so please explain clearly.
Thanking all in advance

Just install xp to the new laptop using the windows xp cd that came with the old laptop or didn’t it come with an xp install disc? If not then you will need to buy the xp setup disc.

http://www.howtohaven.com/system/createwindowssetupdisk.shtml

I just found this web site… do you think it will be able to help me with my problem?

2 things:

1. If Windows XP came on an recovery disc, it may be loaded with specific drivers of your old laptop only… As a result, it may not work on your new laptop. However, if it is an original Microsoft install CD, you should be able to install it on your new laptop.

2. if you install Windows XP on your new laptop, you will have to remove it from your old laptop. THe license does not allow it to be installed at two systems at the same time…just thought you should be aware of that.

1. Do you think it will be possible to find all the drivers on the internet for my new system, if i use the older windows version?

2. How would windows know if I have used the same key on 2 systems?

3. could I set Vista, russian version, on my old system, so the laptop is functional to give it to a friend.

Effectively swapping the the operating systems and licenses between computers, would this clear up all licensing problems?

Sorry for so many questions

[QUOTE=oconnor.khors;2168853]1) Do you think it will be possible to find all the drivers on the internet for my new system, if i use the older windows version?[/QUOTE]