HP dvd740 DVD+R Burning Problems

Hello, I’m new to CDFreaks

I have a problem with my DVD burner which is a HP dvd740 it has problems burning with Nero it just gives errors also the DVD drive seems incapable to recognize DVD-R’s, I’m using TDK DVD’s, I also have the latest firmware update for it HJ 24 and it still has problems also provided a log file of a disk I burnt that didn’t work.

Please provide a solution to my problems.

Hi, and welcome :slight_smile:

For troubleshooting purposes, could you uninstall your virtual drive software? These have been known to cause burning problems/disc access problems.

Also, you might try a different kind of media - seems at first glance that your burner doesn’t like those TDK003’s, but uninstalling your virtual drive may just fix it. :slight_smile:

I will try this as soon as I get home from school, Thanks very much.

I tried uninstalling the Virtual Drive software and it did absolutely nothing to help me recognize the DVD-R media in the drive. I might contact HP support about the problem and see if they have any solution.

There’s a very good chance that it’s the media and/or decent support in the firmware.

Verbatim media is very well supported in most firmwares, you might want to give that a try. :slight_smile:

Apraently now the DVD drive doesn’t read or register DVD+R or DVD-R discs.
It also seems not to be able to see CD-R’s as well. The only thing that seems to work is cd’s with data on them. =/ Might be the drive firmware that’s playing around or the OS that has gone slightly sour.
Also the HP people said I had to return to the OS supplied for me to get further tech support. =/

Nope, a firmware cannot go faulty that way. Test the drive in another computer.

Also, follow the link in chef’s sig on how to delete your upper and lower filters.

Sometimes just uninstalling a software isn’t enough to get rid of those registry entries (I found this out with CloneCD).