HP DVD400i

HPs recent firmware update has rendered my dvd400i unable to recognize CD media. Calls to HP were of no help.

HP demanded my telephone number, name an address before they would answer any questions regarding this issue, which I refused to give. At that, the HP representative, with his thick, almost unintelligible Eastern Indian accent informed me that he would be unable to help me. After arguing for some time, and repeated requests by the rep for my phone number, I was handed over to a supervisor. He informed me that they would be unable to open a “case file” in their database without my phone number. I refused again, after which I was informed rather hatefully, that he would be unable to answer any questions without my telephone number and suggested that I reset my computer’s bios and if that didn’t work, I should reconsider my refusal to give them my phone number.

Now, I am not a lawyer, but from what I have been able to find out from friends and family, I was left with the impression that it is illegal according to U.S. law for a company to require personal information in order to render support for a product without first getting a release in writing from the individual requesting support. Perhaps someone more knowledgable in these matters could clear this up for me.

I am however a computer technician and I do know my way around hardware. I am reasonably certain that the firmware is preventing the drive from recognizing CD media.

Whatever the cause, this much is certain: I am left with a drive that is unusable as a CD drive. Stamped CD as well as CD-R and CD-RW (whether blank or burned) are not recognized. The drive goes thru the initial TOC read, but then stops. It is as if there were no disc inserted except that it does spin the disc. The drive seems to be obtaining focus and attempting to read TOC. I can hear the lens servo as it spins up.