HP DVD Writers

Are they any good? It seems that its not a popular brand. Im in the market for a DVD writer and like all the newbie here, I dont know which to choose.

Im looking toward a DVD420i CD freaks has no reviews of any HP writers even CD SO I was wondering, are HP dvd writers any good?

thanks.

EDIT just found out NEC = HP, sorry about this post

HP 420i = NEC 2500A
As far as I know

HP buys CD and DVD drives from LG, Samsung, NEC, Ricoh, and whoever else that gives best prices for reasonable performance. HP DVD writers are usually good and they are supported relatively well. Visit http://www.dvdplusrw.org for complete list of HP DVD writers. All HP models from 100 to the near-future models are discussed in the forum there.

I’m not really sure why one would buy an HP drive these days. Why not look at a Pioneer? If you want an NEC, just buy an NEC, not a rebadge. It’s not like HP’s support is so good. I had an HP rewriter and they never supported it at all- no firmware upgrades, patches on patched software, and nasty phone support. Personally, I would look anywhere else for my optical products at this point.

If HP is not good, then what is good? Good or bad is a relative notion in this because we are comparing brand names.

HP’s support is at least far better than Samsung, better than Lite-On, better than NEC, better than Pioneer. You would have to experience all of them for a long time to compare. Whether it’s servers, printers, or even optical drives.