HP DVD Writer 640b/LG GWA-4162B - hangs & reboots with most discs

Alright - I’m a newbie and am trying to find the solution to my DVD+/-RW drive problem. I have about a year old HP a819n, WinXP SP2, with a HP DVD Writer 640b (which I learned from the forums here is really an LG GWA-4162B).

At first, I had issues with certain CD-RWs, and later Maxell DVD+RWs. My system would hang for a minute or two after inserting, then reboot and would remain on a black screen until I removed the disc. I was told by HP chat techs that HPs have compatibility issues with Maxells, Memorex, and other (though I’ve found no problems with Memorex CD & DVD-Rs), and to try Sony or HP discs.

Now, I have the same issue with DVD movies. The half-a-dozen HP chat techs I’ve spoken with have been absolutely worthless, pointing me at 640e & 640i driver/firmware updates, changing system settings basically to not reboot on problems, etc. The last one, of course, told me to do a system recovery - which I will refrain from as much as I’d like to spend the next month reinstalling a years worth of software and changed settings.

As far as I can tell, I already had all the updated drivers and firmware - so without performing system recovery and using my service plan with Best Buy (which would most likely leave my computerless for around 3 weeks), does anyone have an suggestions/advise?

Thanks for your time.

Use better media (especially in case of Memorex), this can save you much trouble.

Well, I dont seem to have a problem with Memorex - but the Maxell RWs do not work. I found it strange that such a mainstream brand would not be compatible with and HP DVD drive.

But - I can live with that - there are other brands to buy, not too big of a deal. The real problem is the facts it is doing the same thing with DVD Movies.

What speed are the Maxell RWs rated?

I no longer have the packaging (shrink wrap around a spindle), but I believe its 4x - DVD+RW 4.7gb, 2Hrs

Okay, an update: