HP 640b & EMC-8 Dual Layer Problems

Hi,

I’m a Newbie to CD Freaks, but I’ve been burning DVD’s for a while. I recently purchased an HP m1297c Media Center computer with a 640b dual layer DVD burner. I was using Roxio EMC 7, but discovered that it did not handle DL burning, so I got EMC 8. After using the new software to successfully burn standard 4.7 GB discs (both DVD+R and DVD-R), I tried to burn a DVD-9 which I had downloaded into a VIDEO_TS folder. I used a Verbatim DVD+R/DL disc. In EMC-8, I selected “Copy”, then “Copy DVD Movies” just as I would with a standard 4.7 GB DVD. I also made sure to select “DVD+R Double Layer” in the Disk Size window.

After EMC-8 reported 13% complete, I got an error concerning “exceeded user accessible area of disc” and the program terminated. I rebooted the computer and tried again with the same result. When I tried to examine the disc with Explorer, it showed the basic VOB structure just as a 4.7 GB disc would (that is, it showed the same structure as the VIDEO_TS folder I was copying from). I then tried using Power DVD 6 to view the contents as a DVD, and indeed, it played the first 1GB VOB… then locked up.

I searched several forums, including Video Help, but could find nothing helpful. I also went to the HP website to download the current drivers, but could not find anything on the 640b burner-- only 640e and 640i. I have tried repeatedly to register for the Roxio forums, but they are reporting problems in registration… with no estimate of when it will be fixed. Since DL media is not exactly cheap, I have made no further efforts to burn DL’s.

With apologies that the questions are probably stupid, here goes: In general, has anyone out there experienced this or similar problems?

More specifically…
First, which driver update should I use for my 640b burner-- the 640e or 640i… or does it matter… or is neither one the correct driver for me?

Second, can anyone tell me whether this is likely to be a software or hardware problem?