How to tell if a DVD has been copied

Sorry, i dont post often and might be putting this in the wrong forum but here goes anyway.

My friend works in an online DVD rental warehouse and he was telling me that theres now a way of finding out if an original DVD has been copied when they have been returned back to them. I dont mean that if they receive a copied DVD back, i mean they can tell if the original DVD they receve back has been illegaly duplicated.

Is that possible. Original DVD’s cannot be written to, so surley theres no way that any information can be passed on to the disc when it’s returned, and also if the dvd was decrypted in a DVD-ROM, then its not capable of writing any information to any disc anyway.

Is this total rubbish or could it be possible, i personally cant see how.

I’m no expert but I don’t see how it would possible to tell.

There was a company a while back that rented burned DVDs and they had some kind of imbedded serial that would enable them to tell if one of their DVDs were original or a copy. This is the only thing I have heard of concerning this that made sense. I think it was one of those groups that took all the violence and sex out of first run movies. I think they went out of business.

Anyway why would they do this? this would mean that rental companies would have to put money into checking the dvd, and they would loose money also by holding the copies and not sending them out again. It wouldnt be worth their while.

#150 post :slight_smile:

After thinking about this for several hours why would blockbuster care what you do? They got their fee and they move on. This is so stupid. I hope it does not create another secret chip implant or secret hard disk storage area thread. :rolleyes: The world is going nuts :iagree: Your buddy working at blockbuster does not automatically make him or her the brightest bulb on the tree.