How to split a DVD movie into two?

Hi all,

I’m an absolute newbie in the DVD recording world, and now I’m seeking some help from you experts :smiley:

I’ve been able to copy some DVD movies with no problem as long as they can fit nicely into a DVD-R. But when I come to a movie of larger size (e.g 7GB) I dont know what to do. I heard that DVD X copy Xpress can fit that into a single DVD-R but will this reduce the quality or will it take out some features of the DVD? Also I don’t want to use DVD X Copy Xpress since it usually has errors and cant start.

I have tried to use CloneDVD and copied only the main title, no other features. But obviously this is undesireable and also can be problematic with some movies with the long main title.

So is there any way I can split the movie into two and copy them into 2 DVD-Rs without destructing the disc features? Or is there other ways to fit the whole movie in one disc but not removing all features (slight reduction in quality may be ok)

I have Nero 6, Alcohol 120, CloneDVD, and DVD X Copy Xpress.

I would appreciate any help.

Thanks

There’s one method here, using a free app

You can use IfoEdit to split up your DVD’s. I can give you a very quick guide, but I don’t have to much time right since I’m going on vacation 2morrow and I still need to pack and stuff. :wink:

Open ifoedit.
Choose open -> vts_01_0.ifo (if that is the ifo of the main movie)
Hit Vob Extra’s and select everything but Re-mux / Rebuild PTS / Remove Ilvu/Anglepoint
Choose Destination directory and hit Ok.
Then you get a new window where you can choose where to split. Just leave this alone and hit Split It.
Next you get to choose which audio & subs which you want to keep. Make your selection and hit Ok.
Next screen hit Check All and hit Strip It.
If you get an error “Error opening… seems it doesn’t exist” then just hit Ok.
Now IfoEdit will make to directories for you which contains the data for 2 DVDs.