How to optimize the burn process

Hi everyone,
I’m new to computers and burning and I got some stupid questions but hey that’s why the newbies section is for!
These questions are fairly generic and they are about how to burn a cd-r in the best way possible.I am using nero 7 and I want to create a data cd.I am using Verbatim cd-r’s 700MB x52 double layered (azo,crystal).Windows 98 or better.(I am using windows xp but maybe i want to use my cdr’s with another computer that uses for example windows 98)
1 Do I use the default “layer 1 +joliet” concerning filename characters or do I use level 2 If I have long file names? Does the use of layer 2 affects in anyway the quality of the burn? Because if it does I will sacrifice filename length!
2 If I intend to burn more than 600MB in one session and never burn the cd-r again, do i use the default multissesion and just don’t burn it again or it is better to choose one session.And If I choose one session should I finalize?Using “one session” and “finalize” equals a better burn?
3 What is the ideal writting speed for these Verbatims for data and audio?I use x16 for both.Does the speed on the writting method?(See question below)
4 Finally when I want to create a data cd which burn method should I use?disc at once or track at once?Does it make any diffirence If it is a “multissesion” ,“one session” or “one session+finalized” CD?
Hope that you can help and sorry if this all seems just stupid questions to you.Thanks.Looking forawrd to your answers.

Hi rakanon :slight_smile: