How to: MeGUI+automkv to make a back up movie file (complete with multiple audio and subtitles)

I am new to this particular forum and can’t find the best place to put this guide, but here goes.

I’ve been working on a way to rip DVDs so that the multiple audio tracks (dubbing) and subtitles could come along, and I think I’ve got something to work (at least most of the time :wink: )

Here’s what you need:
DVD Decrypter to rip DVDs to a VOB (uncompressed) file
Avisynthto do some of the heavy lifting in the video conversion process
meGUIto do most of the ripping (it has an update feature to get the plug-ins you’ll need)
VOBSubto rip subtitles (can be done in meGUI but you have to install this to use it)
MKVMerge(along with other tools as part of “mkvtoolnix”) to edit down the MKV files if needed
VLC Media Player to test your encoded (MKV) files and analyze the VOB files

Optional:
AnyDVDto remove region protection (mainly on European or Asian DVDs, but handy to use just in case
Subrip- like VOBSub, mostly focusing on converting the picture files of subtitles on DVD into text files (via OCR) into SRT files. Useful in case VOBSub doesn’t work
AutoMKVanother MKV editor, I haven’t had as much luck with it, but it might be useful

Also of interest:
A forum post meant to be a ‘one stop shop’ for AutoMKV

Install Instructions:
Install DVDDecrypter - it is a bit old now, and it got bought out so it won’t be getting any updates, but it works.
Install AviSynth since it is needed for meGUI. Should be a straightforward install.
Install VOBSub - it’s also needed for meGUI so you might as well install it now.