How to get an image file onto a virtual drive?

vbimport

I have never done any of this before which is why I’m absolutely confused. I purchased AnyDVD 3.8.2.3 and Alcohol 120% today. I bought Alcohol first otherwise I probably would have gone for CloneCD.

AnyDVD appears to be set up correctly and after reading the entire help files for Alcohol, so does that, but as soon as I go to make an image with it I am halted by a refusal based on copy protections. I thought AnyDVD was supposed to have taken care of those?

Getting absolutely nowhere I then downloaded the trial version of CloneCD and successfully made an image which is on my C: drive. Alcohol placed a virtual drive on my machine called F: and my goal is to copy my DVD to that so I don’t have to use the DVD drive anymore. It’s purely a battery saving exercise as I travel a lot with this laptop.

Can anyone tell me:

• How to watch the film from the image, or get the DVD copied to my virtual drive to watch it?

• How to make Alcohol do its job in conjunction with AnyDVD so that I don’t get the proverbial door slammed in my face?

• Which is better, Alcohol 120% or CloneCD?

Alessia

First off

First off Alcohol Vs CloneCD. They can do different things but for me Alcohol is WAY better than CloneCD at present.

If you are going to use the virtual drive then I don’t think you will need to use AnyDVD. It is mainly for making your own DVD’s

To get you DVD into the virtual drive you basically need to get it saved onto your harddrive in the right format. I would think using http://www.dvddecrypter.com in ISO mode would get you the right file format. All you would then have to do is to right Click on your F Drive and then click on Mount Image. Find you image and hey presto you should have your image loaded.

A quick note is that I havn’t done this before so please post again if either successful or not.