How to flash new kys-4 firmware on my dw-q28a drive?

vbimport

i am still new to this but i have been testing a lot of different burnt discs with nero dvd speed and i am not happy with the results. i have pretty high failure rates and i average around 80 for quality scores. tired several different media and the best i ever got was a 95 once on a verbatim. Seeing my buddies 3 year old $50.00 hp dvd burner getting 100 quality score with his burns is starting to tick me off. I thought i would try updating the firmware but i could not find any “how to” guides. I was also wondering if a newbie should try doing this or not? i am pretty knowledgeable about computers but by no means am i an exert. by the way i downloaded the firmware but the adobe file that comes with it requires a password. i clicked on the firmware .app file and i got an error saying “no matched drive detected”, “this is only for sony dvd rw dw q28a drive” detected drive is blank.

What firmware version is your drive currently showing please? Using the Q28A_KYS4WIN.EXE flasher is easy as 1-2-3 if your drive is recognized correctly.

A good place to start reading is the FAQ and LiteOn Tools “Read First” stickies.

it is at kys-1, i did find a different file and it seems to recognize my drive, asking me if i would like to continue. this does look pretty easy, if i click yes it looks like will automatically start updated my drive, but i did not want to go further until someone here tells me i am on the right path.

another question about dvd speed, on one computer when doing a disk quality check the graphs show pi errors and pi failures and no jitter, running same version of dvd speed on another computer the graph displays pi errors and jitter and not pi failures. i could not find any settings that would allow user to change display types. so i was wondering if this is becuase it is 2 different burners and the different burners are tested differently by dvd speed or why this is?