How to Edit DVDs from my DVR

I have produced DVDs using my Panasonic DVR. The original source for the movies may be a TV show, VHS tape, my analog camcorder, or whatever.
Now, I am trying to edit some of these DVDs using my computer.
My DVR manual says it records the video in format mpeg2 and the audio in Dolby. All I want to do at this point is read a DVD, cut out some content, and create a new DVD.
I am really a newbie and I do not know all the formats.
To me, that means editing VOB files and authoring a DVD.

I would like a recommendation of the best tool(s)/process for doing this.
Ideally, I would like to see this work using a trial version before I buy the tool.
So far I have tried an OEM version of Nero 6.3( which imported but lost the sound), and Magix Edit Pro 11, which refused to import a VOB file and says the file is a bad format.

Also, I read about Codecs causing problems. Are the steps I should take to clean up my system before I try this stuff?

Thanks for you help.

From what i’ve read VideoRedo is one of the best programs for doing what you want. I haven’t used it myself but when i do this is the program i’m going to try first. There is a trial you can try and i would check the tools section at videohelp.com because maybe there is a freeware program that will work for you. Make sure you check out the program’s homepage for more info.

http://www.videohelp.com/tools?tool=VideoReDo

First you need to get the MPEG2 titles off the DVD disc, which can be done using DVD Decrypter in IFO mode and file-splitting set to ‘None’. Then rename the .vob file extension to ‘.mpg’.

From there, import into a suitable editor. Having used most of these I agree with sikoone that VideoReDo is very good for editing; you could also try ‘MPEG Video Wizard’ (or its cheaper but equally functional companion ‘MPEG2VCR’).