How to create labels for cds

hi,im interested in knowing how to create labels for cds but i havnt got a clue how its done,how are the pictures put onto cds? is it done with sticky labels with the picture on the sticky label or are the pictures printed directly onto the cds?
can someone advise me on tools/software/hardware and other things i will need to create labels.
also do i need to use certain types of cdr’s or will any cdr’s do?
as i say im a complete noob when it comes to this stuff and any help would be gladly appriciated.

Some CD’s can be printed on, most can’t.
To print on the CD directly you also need a printer who is capable of handling this, there aren’t many around.

In most cases people print on adhesive labels and apply them onto the CD with an applicator.

This last procedure is often used. There are even silver adhesive lables, making the CD even more real after the label is stuck on it.

Disadvantage is though, you need to apply the label in one try, there is no retry. If you try to peel off the label, you are most likely removing (parts of) the top layer (the reflecting layer) of your CD and thus making it a defect.

The second disadvantage of this adesive label business is that when the label is not exactly aligned to the centre of the CD, the CD may become out of balance and make a lot of noise in your player, or at worst, even shatter in your drive.

There are many programs out there that can help you design labels (check here). There are many brands that sell such labels. I believe even Avery has such labels, but of that I am not sure.

Nero does have a cover editor included in its software.

Hope this helps out a bit

ps next time, please do use a title that actually describes your question and make all of our lives easier

that does help,thanks.