How to burn DVD's? Not working!

So, I’m new to burning things…please be patient. I bought some sort of SlimLine external CD/DVD burner from Amazon, and when it came, I immediately stuck in a blank CD and burned a copy of a bunch of MP3 music, no problem.

So then I bought a pack of DVD-R (which it says are compatible with device) and tried to burn videos off my Sony HandyCam. I am using PMB as a program to do this, or trying to do it with the One Touch Disc Burn feature on my camera. It does recognize that the drive exists, and no drivers were necessary to be installed, etc.

So I get to the point when it says “Insert a Recordable Disc into the Drive” and I do so…one of the blank DVD-R’s, and click okay…and the box pops back up, telling me to insert a disc. It is apparently not recognizing that I have a disc in.

Any suggestions? I’m getting a headache from trying to research answers here. :frowning:

Welcome to the forums MrsLaVallie.

Lets take this one step at a time and see what works. We need to determine if the dvds that you have bought are actually recognized by the drive. So, download a free burning program called ImgBurn. www.imgburn.com

Install it, careful not to install any extra programs that might be offered. ImgBurn is a superb burning program, but the installation often times will try give you something else with it.

Start ImgBurn and click on Write Files/Folders to Disc. This brings up the main window in ImgBurn. Click on Output at the top of the window and make certain that the output is to Device. Your drive should show up in the Destination line now.