How to burn a massive .avi file to dvd-rw?

vbimport

Hi all first post and newbie here so first things first hello.

I have searched the internet for the answers to my questions but belive this is the place im more than likely find the answers.

I have 4.7 GB 120 min dvd-rw discs and am looking to burn an avi file which is 3.1 GB and over 5 hours in length.

Now i pretty much know how to burn a relatively small file to dvd but since the file is so large will i have to split the file or compress it???

Any help you can give me would be much appreicated
Many thanks

well with this size file you can do two things;

1. Transcode the avi into an mpeg2 file, then shrink with a program like dvd shrink

or

1. Split the file first, then transcode the file to an mpeg2

Id recommend the second option, as you will lose alot of quality shrinking down that amount.

i thought that may be the case do you think it will fit onto 2 dvds? How do i go about spitting the file then trancoding it into mpeg file?

Sorry if im sounding completly dumb but im still quite new to this

Many thanks again

HUH :confused: If it’s 3.1 why can’t you put it on a 4.7

its a 3.1gb avi file

so
I don’t get it
Make a data dvd or turn it into a divx
I must be missing something here :confused:

I was more thinking he was wanting to put it onto a video-dvd, but i could be wrong…

He didn’t say that :disagree:
Im going to start sniffing glue again :iagree:

ratman316, welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

In order to really answer your question, we must know what you’re really trying to accomplish.
You are probably trying to do one of the following two things, but which is it?

[ol]