How to build a router

vbimport

Recently my curiosity made me explore another crazy idea: to use a full PC as a router, and connecting to internet with a plain modem.

A full PC should allow a better (and powerful) option if used as router, but I have no experience about installing a firewall (something that is already embedded in a router) nor how to configure it, so I’m here to ask for help again :bigsmile:

There are two area to be explored: hardware and software. Let’s start with the hardware.

If I understood correctly, the hardware to be used is something like the following scheme:

Internet --> modem --> Router-PC --> Switch --> one or more regular PC

If I’m not wrong, it is not needed a huge CPU power to build a router: a regular modem/router certainly doesn’t have a quadcore CPU.

So my first question: is an Atom 510 CPU sufficient? I can find a board for a not too high price, and it has a low power consumption (very important for a machine that should run 24/7). It certainly will consume more than a regular modem/router, but I’m curious about this and asking for suggestion certainly will not enlarge the ozone hole :bigsmile:

Second question. I think that two NICs are needed: one to connect the router-PC to the modem, and another to connect the router PC to the switch. Is that correct or not? If not, what is the correct scheme?

Because of in the Router PC it must be installed only the operative system (a linux distro dedicated to this maybe?) and the firewall, maybe is possible to install everything on an USB pendrive. This will reduce power consumption and an USB pendrive certainly costs lesser than a SSD. Is that possible or an USB pendrive will be unreliable in time so is better to use a regular HDD? USB pendrives are certainly slower than a regular HDD, so I wonder if this will cause a bottleneck that will make totally useless to have a full PC as router because a regular modem/router will be a lot faster. Any hints about that?