How to backup harddrive with nero

Hello everyone,
This may sound like a dumb question to some people but I have searched the forums for help but to no avail. I am trying to backup my hard drive on dvd-r media using nero express and they assure me I can do it. Alas every time i’ve tried I get an error the following is a copy of the Nero log I am using Nero ver.5.5.10.9 and I have a Toshiba SD-R5002 burner any help would be greatly appreciated. Just remember to keep your explanation simple BECAUSE I AM A NEWBIE.
Thank you in advance
Dusty or Dennis

xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx

Windows XP 5.1
IA32
WinAspi: -
ahead WinASPI: File ‘C:\Program Files\Ahead\Nero\Wnaspi32.dll’: Ver=2.0.1.50, size=131072 bytes, created 6/25/2002 11:34:54 AM
Nero Version: 5.5.10.9 (Nero Express)
Recorder: <TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-R5002>Version: 1033 - HA 1 TA 0 - 5.5.10.9
Adapter driver: <atapi> HA 1
Drive buffer : 2048kB
Bus Type : default (0) -> ATAPI, detected: ATAPI
CD-ROM: <ATAPI DVD-ROM 16X> Version: 422R - HA 1 TA 1 - 5.5.10.9
Adapter driver: <atapi> HA 1
Bus Type : default (0) -> ATAPI, detected: ATAPI

=== Scsi-Device-Map ===
DiskPeripheral : Maxtor 6E030L1 atapi Port 0 ID 0 DMA: On
CdRomPeripheral : TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-R5002 atapi Port 1 ID 0 DMA: On
CdRomPeripheral : ATAPI DVD-ROM 16X atapi Port 1 ID 1 DMA: On

AutoRun : 1
Excluded drive IDs:
CmdQueuing : 1
CmdNotification: 2
WriteBufferSize: 83886080 (0) Byte
ShowDrvBufStat : 0
EraseSpeed : 0
BUFE : 0
Physical memory : 1023MB (1048096kB)
Free physical memory: 736MB (754272kB)
Memory in use : 28 %
Uncached PFiles: 0x0
Use Static Write Speed Table: 0
Use Inquiry : 1
Global Bus Type: default (0)
Check supported media : Enabled (1)
Wizard: On

ISO compilation
6:48:39 PM #1 Text 0 File Isodoc.cpp, Line 7482
Iso document burn settings
------------------------------------------
Determine maximum speed : TRUE
Simulate : TRUE
Write : FALSE
Finalize CD : FALSE
Multisession : TRUE
Multisession type: : Start multisession
Burning mode : DAO