How to backup games for modded PS2?

Hi I am completely new at all this. I have a moded PS2 and I’m trying to back up my games. I have gamejack 4.0 and many others. But I can’t figure out how to use it nor can I find the directions. Is there a forum for instruction on how to use different copying programs?

The single layer games will copy normally. Just use Alcohol 120% and it’ll copy fine. Personally I use no-solder modchip + SwapMagic. If you have a newer PS2, you can try fliptop + SwapMagic.

How do I copy a dual layer game and also how can I tell the difference between a dual and single layer game?

Personally i’d go with dvddecrypter for ps2 backups.
The difference, you’ll find it out very soon if you’ve a DL game, look at the size for example more than 5 gigs and you’ve a DL. You can burn the DL also with the mentioned
tool and you need a modchip which supports reading DVD-9 in some cases you’ll need the toxic dl patcher.

oic thanks. I have alcohol 120%. Can I burn a dual layer disk onto a blank dual layer disk with alochol 120%? If so do I do it the same way as a single layer disk? Sorry if these questions are stupid but I’m just starting out and I’ve gotten great help. Thanks guys!

You’ll need a patch for dual layer games. Usually it’s not worth the trouble. I tried to back up my GT4, it didn’t work. Either just wait for a DVD5 iso or not back it up at all. The way you check if the game is dual layer is check to see if the game is bigger than 4.5gb, if it’s bigger than 4.5gb then it’s dual layer.

DVD Decrypter…

Mode->ISO READ

Mode->ISO WRITE

Two steps, all done.

Dual-layer discs aren’t worth the trouble, but there are patches out there to make them work on dual-layer blanks (which still cost $2-$3 each, sadly) or to “rip” them and make them work on single-layer blanks. But since such patches are considered pretty dodgy (on the order of “cracks”), we can’t really point you directly at them here. :wink: