How to add my own startup message

I am new to DVDRemake, and it seems like I’ll be able to get some use out of it. I’ve been using PgcEdit up till now, and that is still an option. But DRM does seem easier to use.

What I want to do (and have been doing in PgcEdit) is to add my own startup message (“Welcome to Bob’s house…”) to my DVDs. I want it to play for 10 secs, then go away. What I’ve been doing is to create a new VTST, creating a root menu within it, jumping to the root menu from the First Play, and displaying the clip, then returning to the First Play after setting an unused GPRM to 1 as a flag that I’ve played this. I do not know if this is the best way to accomplish my goal or not. I can also click play to get it to end early too, which is nice.

In DRM, I’m trying to create a new PGC, maybe putting a still bmp in a cell and displaying it for 10 secs. I tried creating a new PGC in the VMG domain, but can’t figure out how to get an image into a cell.

Some of the PGCs in my ripped DVD have a little red rectangle icon in the list of PGCs. I assume this means they have a visible menu? I’d think I’d like to create a PGC like that - but how?

Before I ramble on too much - can you explain how I can accomplish this in DRM the best way possible. I only want the bmp to display when the DVD is first inserted, then never again.

I do have a small DVD formatted set of files which I’ve been using which has my startup message in it, if that helps.

Should I open that DVD, copy the VTS and add it to my ripped DVD and fix up the navigation? Would that work?

Isn’t this similar to using the macro “Import First-Play (startup) Clip” in PgcEdit? It’s just a few clicks.

The little red rectangle icon (in DRM) indicates there are button(s) in the PGC, but does not necessarily mean it is a menu. You mentioned that you “can also click play to get it to end early”, this is an indication there’s already a button overlaying in your clip. Did you create this button in PgcEdit?