How many on cdfreak have a computer background

vbimport

I was wondering, there are alot of people giving advice about computers, software and hardware. How many people really have a computer education or background. What I mean by background is “you work repairing/administrating/programming computers as your job”

I know that alot of people are “self educated” and there´s nothing wrong with that. That´s how most of us got started.

Nope, self educated.

self educated, but managing all pc’s at my work (besides my “normal” job), and also have some clients already paying me for managing their pc’s…
gonna make myself a self-employed next year (2006) in this sector…

I work for IBM, that’s all the details I’m giving out.

hom-skooled

I am a tier-two hardware support engineer for a data storage company. I deal primarily with tape drives + libraries, and some disk.

I did a course in electrical engineering, where I feel that it was a giant babysitting exercise for 4 years. Luckily, scholarships allowed me to not pay for what I didn’t learn.

I’ve been mucking about with computer hardware for about 1/2 my life. Starting with the time I ran a screwdriver down a ISA slot in disgust with a tandy1000 (286) while it was on, as it wouldn’t recognise an ISA joystick card. Just testing the “Electrical Isolation” that the manual declared was one of the features of the Tandy series PC’s.
A quick flick of power switch & a wet blanket later was all that was required.

Needless to say, after the smoke had cleared, I vowed never to (destructive) test vendors claims again :wink:

pretty much self-education, school sucked

i did that for 2 years at my last job until i quit because i wasn’t being compensated for it (and a whole lot of other reasons too). self-educated…lots of reading.

Self taught but now doing a IT course at college hopefully going on to build and maintanancs classes to be a technition for a school or company