How many of you play stocks?

vbimport

I’ve been thinking about doing so. European and Asian markets are too crappy now (even the banking sectors are in a decline) - which means I will be going for US markets instead. Does anyone have any advice for someone who is still tentatively looking into investing in the US from the UK?

Obviously I won’t start buying so soon, I am studying the portfolios and histories of certain companies and sectors which I am interested in, and will only participate when I feel I have learnt enough. Also, I’ve capped how much I will invest in the stock market, for my own fiscal safety.

Also, can any Americans here recommend a good source of news within the US? I usually read CNN but the news from that website has been somewhat digested for an international audience. I need more sources, especially of an American-centric nature.

I thought of doing so once, but as this is quite time consuming, and quite a high risk for a (relative) poor student, I’m not doing so. In the future, I may want to spend money on some obligations, as the risk isn’t that big.

An uncle of mine has been playing around with his savings for a couple of years know and he gained quite some money with it. Okay, he lost some as well, but after all his balance was still positive.

Dont play the market

Bet with the spread betting firms on the stocks performance

There is NO TAX on bets in the UK but Capital gains Tax applies to stock profits!!

Originally posted by The-poacher
[B]Dont play the market

Bet with the spread betting firms on the stocks performance

There is NO TAX on bets in the UK but Capital gains Tax applies to stock profits!! [/B]