How long should it take to encode and burn?

vbimport

Hi , this one might sound noobish…

I have been using DVD Shrink to back up some of my movies and it works great, but it is taking 2 hours from start to finish. Isn’t this a little long?

I have a LG GSA-4120B 12X Super Multi Internal DVD+/-R/RW Drive…

Should I be configuring something different? Should I be using different software?

Thanks…

how do you backup? from movies that are bigger than 4.7 GB to a single dvd?
if so, then the resizing process (reducing video bitrate and quality to make a big movie fit into a 4.7 GB dvd) takes really long time…

what are the specs of your computer (cpu, ram, etc)?

My specs are:

P4 2.0Ghz
768 Ram
200GB HD

(I’m kinda new to this stuff, so if I missed something, just let me know…)

In terms of burning, I am just backing up the movie (not the extra features…) Does that matter?

the 2 hours you mentioned aren’t 2 hours on burning on the dvd? most of it is the computer ripping and re-encoding to a lower bitrate?

as i said before, if the main movie size is larger than 4.7 GB, then a process of re-encoding should be made, and this process takes time.

i didn’t do this yet, i backed up one small movie (less than 4.7gb), just rip and burn, and it wasn’t that slow…
i have an athlon 1333, how much will it need to re-encode a movie !!! (a local magazine made a review with an athlon 900, saying it could take up to 12 hours…