How long should a computer be on?

Hey,

I am new to this computer health thing so please help me :bow: . I know that some people would turn their computer on for days and not give it a rest so i was wondering what is the longest time that u could turn ur computer on for downloading but still keeps the computer in good condition :confused: ?

best regard,

babychar2002

I dont turn mine off but maybe once a month. But that is not restarts either. I restart for updates or new program installs.

I would maintain a good maitance schedule and keep the pc at a resonable temp.

BTW, this could have been in the newbie section :wink:

:confused: you mean people turn off their computer??? just kidding but in all honesty I i’m like RFjr …i just restart after updates…other than that…i’m on dsl…for 24/7 downloading something…all the time… :flower: like…uh paid for software and stuff…yeah thats it…paid for stuff… :iagree:

hides from the wrath of Womble…

same as the others, only off when restarting or hardware changes :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

Of course! :iagree:

I turn it off every day. Not to keep it in a good condition, but for the electricity bill.

what u guys are telling me is that there is no harm done with the computer turned on for 24/7 :confused: ? At least isnt there a bit of harm and havent u guyz ever thought that ur computer might not be able to handel it and burn out :confused: .

I know this is a nubie question but i just wanta know more about the situation, foerive me if i am being a pain in the a$$ :bow:

best regard,

babychar2002

yeah, i should turn mine off to save some electricity - summer bill is approaching $200/month - but i leave them both on 24/7 except for necessary restarts…