How Long Have You Been Gaming?

Well, I’ve been gaming since the days of the Commodore VIC-20 – or maybe a little before that – & C64. The first computer I played video games on was the CV-20 way back in 1980…so all in all, I’ve been gaming for well over 30yrs.

I’ve included a poll with this post, so be honest with your answers.

I stopped way back at the C64 days took up to much time.

My (dad’s) first computer:

[QUOTE=Mr. Belvedere;2677801]My (dad’s) first computer:

[/QUOTE]

Heh heh heh… I first started with the one before that, a Sinclair ZX-81.

So that’s 30+ years for me. :eek:

[B]Wombler[/B]

The thread is about gaming, not how long you’ve been using computers…

[QUOTE=mlauzon;2677865]The thread is about gaming, not how long you’ve been using computers…[/QUOTE]

I think you need to read more between the lines here, as those two concepts are not mutually exclusive. :wink:

I started playing and ended up writing games as a programming exercise 30+ years ago on the Sinclair ZX-81.

[B]Wombler[/B]

[QUOTE=mlauzon;2677865]The thread is about gaming, not how long you’ve been using computers…[/QUOTE]Take an educated guess what my first “gaming computer” was :bigsmile:

I made my first (and last) game on a Sinclair ZX Spectrum as well. It was a very horrible vertical space shooter. The BASIC programming language on that thing was awesome.

Does playing Asteroids and Space Invaders in the pub count?

If so I’ve been gaming for more than 30 years :slight_smile:

Regds, JR

I used to play arcade games all the time.

Galaxians was always one of my favourites. :slight_smile:

[B]Wombler[/B]

[QUOTE=JReynolds;2677977]Does playing Asteroids and Space Invaders in the pub count?
[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE=Wombler;2677987]I used to play arcade games all the time.
[/QUOTE]

+1 :bigsmile:

Aside from the arcade games, the first games I came across were Frogger and Keystone Kops - I was in hospital for a week when I was 10, and they had these there. Still miss those. :slight_smile: