How do you watch x.BUP, x.IFO and/or x.VOB Files?

vbimport

Hi… I have archived movies on a USB drive while using my PC. I’m a bit new to figuring out the actual video files technical names so bear with me. So I plug that USB drive into my iMac and I see my directories and movies. When I open the actual movie folder, I see multiple files, a row of dark grey boxes that say “exec” on them and under them VIDEO_TS.BUP, VIDEO_TS.IFO, VTS_01.BUP, VTS_01_0.IFO.

Under that row I find several files with a different icon, and VTS_01_1.VOB, and in this case there are five (5) of these VOB files, each numbered sequentially so the last one is VTS_01_5.VOB.

I have a AppleTV (Gen1/40Gig internal drive), and what I want to do is set up my external USB drive as the source, and then use the ATV to stream my movies, by-passing the internal drive. But what I want to know is what the above files are, and how to play a movie direct from the files start to finish? If I click on one of the VOB files the movie starts playing but its only a section of the movie.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Most software players look for the Video_TS folder, rather than the individual files within them.

Using a player like VLC on a computer, you can also use the Video_TS.IFO file as the input. Don’t know about your AppleTV however, as I’ve never even seen one.

Thanks for the rply… So will a player like VLC actually sift through all the files itself and just play the entire movie or do you have to load one file at a time?

VLC will play the entire movie from the Video_TS folder. Go to Media, then Open Folder to navigate to the place on the hard drive where you have the folder. Ctrl F does the same thing.

I was just using VLC as an example though. Since I don’t use Apple products, I’m not sure which player is considered best for dvd playback in that system.

.ifo files have no content and cannot be played back, same for .bup, because they are backup files of .ifo…