How do YOU store your DVD-Rs?

Hi, I’ve been burning DVD-Rs for a couple of months now and have accumulated over 100+ DVD-Rs, all with jewel cases. These are now starting to take up waaaaay too much room so I am looking at alternatives to storing DVDs.

The storage should keep DVDs safe, also be able to display the contents of the DVD-R while trying to avoid having to write on the DVD (since my handwriting suX)… atm all I can come up with is slimline CD cases with the paper labels I get from the jewel cases…

Anyway, what do you guys use to store DVD-Rs?

I use either spindles or the zipper cases. The big cases can hold a ton of discs without taking up much room.

I have two of the cases above. Each can hold 4 50-spindles worth of discs, but yet each takes up less space than 4 spindles.

Are those CD wallets safe for storing DVDs in the long term?

Also, is there a place to put labels, etc to show what’s on the disc??

CD wallets are looking like a good alternative as well :slight_smile:

Originally posted by qwertasdf
[B]Are those CD wallets safe for storing DVDs in the long term?

Also, is there a place to put labels, etc to show what’s on the disc??

CD wallets are looking like a good alternative as well :slight_smile: [/B]

The only thing “safe” is spindles or jewel cases. Wallets and sleeves of any kind have been shown to cause a variety of problems with CD’s.

The same way as CD/DVDs.

Originally posted by rdgrimes
The only thing “safe” is spindles or jewel cases. Wallets and sleeves of any kind have been shown to cause a variety of problems with CD’s.

looks at my number of discs stored in mega-wallets Oops.

Originally posted by code65536
looks at my number of discs stored in mega-wallets Oops.

Check the ones on the bottom first, I suspect that pressure, plastic sleeves and warmth are not a good combination. Many people have no trouble, but others have lost a lot of CD’s that way. I use one too, but only for pressed CD’s.