How do you play back lossy?

I’ve recently switchied to a resampling algorithm (Zoom Player with ffdshow audio filter) and am impressed with the difference in quality vs the standard gamut of players (WMP, WinAmp, etc). I’m new to resampling, and was curious what other people do to play back lossy-format files.

My setup: Run analog through the external inputs of my 5.1 receiver. As mentioned, I run ZPlayer w/ ffdshow installed and resample to 96kHz (Audigy 2 sound card; Creative outputs at 48kHz vs 44.1kHz).

I am curious as to why you are resampling the files at 96kHz then back to 48kHz?
It’s a waste of space - you will gain next to nothing by taking a 44.1kHz wav and converting it into 48.1kHz or 96kHz . All that will happen is that the program doing the conversion will attempt to interpolate new samples in-between the old ones but really it will sound pretty much the same as your original. I restore alot of music and record to the harddrive at 96kHz/32bit then resample back down to a standard wave file after processing it. But I do that inorder to get more info to work with from the initial file before processing.

I was reading an article (sorry I don’t have the link, I’ll look it up) and it indicated the higher resampling the better. Audigy 2 normally resamples to 48kHz, so I ran it first at 48kHz. After reading the article, I tried higher multipliers and it did sound better. From reading your reply it seems you’re thinking this is affecting the recording. I generally record at 44.1 as I’ve noticed anomalies in playback at higher bit rates (not so much on my home stereo, more when I burn CDs or playback on an mp3 player). If I had other FLAC players I guess I’d go lossless but everything I have aside from the computer is mp3/wma dependent. I can’t do bit perfect as my soundcard automatically scales to 48 kHz. I guess it could be a loss in cpu cycles, but it really does seem to help playback the higher I resample.