How do you get subtitles on a burned dvd?

Hi, I have a movie that is from Denmark. The file I d/led has a french and english subtitle file, but when I play the movie on my computer, I do not see an option to use subtitles. If I burn this movie onto a disc, will it have the option of subtitles? I use Nero 3 express, I am new to dvd burning. Thanks.

What are you using to play dvd?? You can usually select subtitles from menu for example power dvd to subtitles and select language.

Hi and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Can you explain better? Where you got these files?

Milkit, welcome to CDFreaks. :bigsmile:

I am not familiar with Nero 3, but unless you tell your burning software to not copy the subtitles (by unchecking them when you see them before writing the files to your hard drive), the subtitles will stay there.

If you had PowerDVD, you could play the movie in your computer and find the option that said “Titles Menu” or “Root Menu,” and you could enable subtitles from there. When some movies are played, for some reason, subtitles are not enabled, so they have to be selected from the Subtitles menu. If you already had the movie on a DVD, you could put it in your standalone DVD player, your DVD standable remote might have a “Subtitles” button to press, where you can scroll through the subtitle options, then select the one you want. :wink:

Hi and welcome to CD Freaks.

What software did you use to burn it?
And I’ll try to help, I use Nero 7.

thanks for the answers. I am using Nero 3 express, it came with the dvd burner I just bought. I got the movie from a torrent site. The file I downloaded said it had french and english subtitles, and when I look in the movies folder on my hardrive I see sustitle files. When I watch the movie on my computer with windows I do not have the option for subtitles. Basically I am just wondering, before I waste a blank dvd, will the subtitles show up as an option when I burn the movie onto a disk? Thanks