How do i do it?

Hi,
I am Mata-Bia and I am a 59 years old(?)/young(?) newbie. I live in Flemish Brabant, Belgium and my mother language is Dutch. I am an invalid lorry mechanic which has discovered recently the computer. I have a Pentium III PC with 2 HDDs, the C drive is 40GB and D drive is 80GB, and my PC has 750MB Ram, and uses XP-SP2 as operating System. By self-tuition and by asking Council to persons who know something of it. I already have learnt a lot.
A few days ago I bought DVD Fab Platinum 4.0.1.2 and I have already made a back up copy of a couple of films. That went very smoothly.
Now, I have a question:
Next to my TV I have a standalone DVD / VCR recorder / player which I can record movies from my TV. Some of these movies will be interrupted up to 4 times by a publicity block of approximately 3 minutes. I would like to remove the annoying commercial blocks. The movies are now usually at 2 DVDs, and I would like to burn them on one DVD.
On the CD Freaks website, http://www.cdfreaks.com/software/Copy-DVD-Movie-Software/Fengtao-Software/DVDFab-Platinum.html I read:
Features Highlight A. DVD to DVD
5. Customize: Personalize your DVDs! Want to make a DVD with only your favorite titles? How about cutting out those annoying commercials? Or selecting specific audio/subpicture? No problem! You can select just your favorite titles, specify the title playback order, with or without original menus, to create a DVD with only the stuff you want!
How do I proceed, in order to do this, cut out those annoying commercials? DVD Fab Platinum 4.0.1.2 can do this ,so everybody can read on Your site , see Features Highlights, A. DVD to DVD, item 5.
Is it only possible to cut out those annoying commercials when I start with an original movie-DVD?
Or is it also possible to cut out those annoying commercials, delete those publicity blocks, when I start with a movie-DVD recorded from my TV with my standalone DVD / VCR recorder / player?