How do I copy the hard drive of a netbook to an external drive from the netbooks BIOS screen?

vbimport

Hi to all.

I am a newbie (although I am familiar with computers in that I can do basic installations, set-up etc…)…

I bought a used Lenovo s10e netbook upgraded with a 300GB HD and 2G RAM with Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit. I’ve installed a lot of utilities such as Winstep Xtreme, Yahoo! Widgets, iTunes, Open Office, Firefox, Windows Explorer 8, Safari, and a lot of other software and downloaded files.

I accidentally knocked my computer off of a dinner table while it was actively connected to the internet through Clearwire’s USB port. I heard a few beeps and saw a boot error message in the BIOS screen, saying that there was a boot error via the USB. This was the message:

"Windows has encountered a problem communicating with a device connected to your computer.

This error can be caused by unplugging a removable storage device such as an external USB drive while the device is in use, or by faulty hardware such as a hard drive or CD-ROM drive that is failing. Make sure any removable storage is properly connected and then restart your computer.

If you continue to receive this error message, contact the hardware manufacturer.

Info: An unexpected I/O error has occurred. "

I tried repairing my computer by making a Windows 7 recovery disk, a DVD ISO disk image of the Windows 7 Installation disk (via uTorrent), and some disc utility commands at the c:> I found online.

Now, the computer says that there is no OS at all.

I believe that all of the content I installed on the computer is still intact and I want to salvage it. My only option is to purchase a new copy of Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit and a 300GB external HD, and duplicate the netbooks HD to the external HD (not the files but a bit-by-bit mirror duplicate of the internal HD and retain the disc image of the internal HD with all of the programs and files as they are on the internal HD to the external HD).