How Do I Check burn quality!

(Sorry I’m New to all this)

Well I just got my NEC today and I very happy but also nervous. I ordered a 25 pack of Datawrite Yellow from ebuyer (it had good reviews).

Anyway after 2 unsuccessful burns one with a Verbatim DVD+RW and the other with a Datawrite DVD-R I finally got a successful burn at 2.4 speed.

My question is what do I need to do to check that my burned DVD is good enough for me to be able to delete the original files (I really can’t watch all those TV Rips).

(I forgot to use Nero’s Verification Doh!)

U can do several things.
Read the disc with nero cdspeed and a picky dvdrom like the liteon 166. You can run kprobe with a lite on dvdwriter. Or you can just buy good media instead of datawrite yellow, which is PRINCO media and actually sux.
And how do you burn a dvd-r at 2.4speed?
Good media is TY or MCC (used by verbatim dvd-r) or Maxell (dvd+r).
U light wanna try Prodisc (good price in USA) or Traxdata dvd+r 2.4X which is RICOHJPN R00 and I have good results with that.
I also recommend you to flash to Herrie’s fw 1.07v2b5 and it even gives you DL support. Also the ability to burn all discs at 8X (well almost all) like the dvd+r traxdata and fuji 2.4X. You can use bitsetting dvd+r to dvd-rom and then it’s compatable with almost any drive even XBOX.

Thanks mate, I had no idea what media to buy (Apart from MMC & TY which are rare or too expensive here) anyway the Datawrite Yellows I’ve got are show up as RitekG04 which I’ve heard can be good if you don’t get a bad batch.

I’m weary about using Herrie’s Firmware as I read it invalidates your warranty and my 2510 is a day old, if I can get away without using it I will, for the time being anyway.

I used Nero CD-DVD Speed but have no idea what the results mean, what exactly should I be hoping to see?

(Oh yes my mistake I wrote the DVD+RW at 2.4X not the DVD-R)