How can I use my 3500AG on my new PC?

Hi guys,

I’ve recently purchased a new PC, with the intention of replacing its DVD-ROM drive with my old NEC 3500AG. However, the new PC’s DVD-ROM uses SATA connections, and there are no extra IDE slots on my motherboard! :a

So, I’m wondering what is the best thing to do. I’m not really a hardware expert, but I’ve heard that I could:

1. Buy a new SATA DVD writer (NEC 7170?)
  2. Get a SATA to IDE converter (seen one for £5 on Ebay)
  3. Use one of the PCI slots, get a low-profile card for it, and connect the drive that way.

Please correct any of the above if I’ve misinterpreted what I read.

Do you guys have any advice on the best thing to do? I’ve always been delighted with my 3500 and would prefer to continue using it.

Hi,

what about putting your NEC into an USB enclosure?

Michael

I’d prefer an internal drive, but am open to the suggestion. Actually, when I first bought the 3500, it was to be as an external drive, but there was a problem with SCSI and a particular version of Nero (details are sketchy in my mind) which just made me give up and opt to install it internally.

The best solution would be a PCI IDE card with the [B]Silicon Image 680A chipset[/B]. This would allow upto 4 IDE drives to be used.
Failing that, an IDE to SATA adapter may be the best solution if you want the drive internal.

I’m thinking it is going to be cheaper, and easier, to get a new SATA DVD writer, as I really would prefer an internal drive. That is unless I could get burns that were just as good, with the 3500 connected externally. Is it possible to get just as good a quality of burn while connecting externally?

Thanks for all the helpful replies so far.

Hi,

normally there is no difference in burn quality if a drive is installed externally. But depending on the USB (or firewire) controller, the corresponding controller in the enclosure, and on the drive, the maximum speed might not be reached.

Michael