How can I improve my audio quality of burned audio cdrs?! What's your method?!

Hi,

I am new to burning audio cds, but I must say that so far I am a bit disappointed with the audio quality when I burn mp3’s (always at least 192kbps quality!) with Nero to a cdr to make an audio cd to play on my hifi system. On my hifi it doesn’t sound really good. What could be the reasons for this?

1/ the used cdr media? Which cdr brand gives the best audio quality or are they all the same? Anybody ever compared this? Will Taiyo Yuden cdrs sound better then for instance MMore or other media brands?..

2/ the program and convertion. For instance, is it smart to import mp3s into Nero and let Nero convert them to audio tracks for burning. If you do it in more steps with a seperate mp3 to wav converter program, could you get better audio quality or won’t it be better then Nero?! Anybody tested this?! Which mp3 to audio conversion algorithm does Nero use? LAME, Fraunhofer?..

3/ anything else that can improve audio quality like writing speed, etc…? Does it make sense to burn as slow as possible even with modern PC’s or won’t it make a difference?!

What’s your method to get the best audio quality audio cdrs?!! Which programs do you use etc… or doesn’t it all make that much of a difference…

1. No, you wont hear a difference although quality discs will last longer
  2. Nero works fine and probably uses the FhG DShow Filter that’s included with Windows Media Player (not sure though).
  3. 8X will be fine in most cases, higher speed will cause jitter but I doubt you’ll notice it.
  4. Higher quality? Get a better source…
    //Danne

Does that mean if you have a Plexwriter 24/10/40 it’s not a good idea to burn audio cds at 24x speed.