How can I copy-protect a CD or a DVD?

Hi guys, I just wanted to know how can I copy-protect a CD or DVD? Is there a program that does all the work automatically or is there any other method?

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

I’m not an expert in this stuff, but I can say that there is no “universal” method or tool. Different discs has different protections, and then different tools must be used.

What do you want to do exactly? More detailed information are needed to get some help :slight_smile:

Well for example if I burned an audio CD I don’t want people to copy it… :smiley:

Sony is desperately trying to find the same tool, but with no avail until now (luckily for end-consumers ;)).

Any copy protection system can be broken in some way.

Yeah I know but my the people I know or the people in my family are not that smart… If they wanted to copy a CD or a DVD they will just insert the CD in the computer open Nero and click on copy CD I don’t think they know how to break an encryption LOL :smiley: I heard of an application called FreeLock or something like that I just want a program that does not allow people to directly copy a disk :slight_smile:

As I said I’m not an expert in this stuff :frowning:

I don’t know if a password-protected audio disc is still readable by a standalone player. Certainly a strong encryption can do the work very well, but then only you with a computer will be able to read the disc, and if you forget the password all data are lost :doh:

Haha… Well I think I’ll just wait for other people to answer and maybe I can find a program :slight_smile: thanks.

:slight_smile:

Perhaps while you are waiting you’d like to use the ‘Search’ tool. If you do, you’ll probably discover the general consensus is ‘you can’t really copy protect anything’…:flower: