How big is BIG

vbimport

Hi. Newbie here.

Actually have two questions:

1. how big is BIG? I’ve heard that the more you download, the more likely you are to get caught. So…what is considered big? A few hundred MB, a few GB? Even whatever unit comes after GB?

2. Also, I’m slightly confused by all I’ve been reading so far, so this is just a yes/no question. Has legal action ever been taken against anyone who downloads movies/tvshows? So far, it seems to be mostly music.

Thanks in advance.

You can find more info on that Here.

and Here.

I’m sure either one of them will be more than happy to answer any questions you may have! :iagree:

While we here at CDFreaks do not condone piracy, let me allay SOME of your fears. This answer should NOT be considered final, since I wouldn’t put anything past the RIAA.

Traditionally, the RIAA has only targeted what they call “major sharers”. That is people who are UPLOADING (sharing) hundreds of songs. How many hundreds? We don’t know - we aren’t sure what their criteria are. If you maintain a couple dozen of your most recent downloads from Kazaa in your “shared files” directory and move everything else off to CD, you’re PROBABLY not on that list. But there’s no guarantee of that.

The MPAA, on the other hand, has send nasty letters to people who are IN THE PROCESS OF DOWNLOADING a single film. Usually from a trackable P2P medium where they can see how much has been downloaded. If you’re using Kazaa or GNUtella to download a pirated copy of “Star Wars: Episode III”, everyone in the world can see you doing it, and see how much of it you’ve downloaded. Oops! Most people’s solution to this is Peer Guardian and/or Bit Torrent.

Has anyone been sued for downloading movies? Yes, but it’s a qualified yes. In all cases it has turned out that those people are ALSO major file movers. No action has ever been taken (beyond a cease & desist letter) against your average neighborhood downloader.