Hot Swapped DVD Burners

vbimport

HI guys, i wasn’t in the know about hot swapping and i think i may have dammaged two of my dvd burners by hot swapping (where the psu was still on and i plugged in the dvd burner). Well now they refuse to work, so obviously something has been damaged, is it fixable? and is there any possible damage to my PSU. im getting 1 dvd burner checked tomoro, just wondering if its worth my time or whether they are unable to repaor :sad:

Try booting to your Windows CD (or any bootable CD). IF they don’t boot, they’re dead.

what do u mean by dead, unable to be fixed? if i were to claim warranty would it be obvious that i have hot swapped? i didn’t know it was dangerous otherwise i wouldn’t’ve done it but alas i am a noob -.-

Dead = dead. As in fried, el morte, kapoot, beyond redemption.

Why would you make a warranty claim when [B]you[/B] killed them?

Generally, simply plugging them in should not kill them, so you might want to try them in a different PC to confirm that you don’t have a PSU problem.

well thanks for re-clarifying dead, i was asking as to whether it could be repaired, im still getting it checked for clarification. I was thinking of claiming warranty as i did as suggested and plugged it in, not until now was i completely aware of the dangers of Hot swapping however u may argue it was my duty to research it, it can be well said that not everyone researches into every aspect of their computer. As to trying it on a different PC, i have done that so it seems there is no problem [EDIT: on another problem someone suggest my PSU being damaged? :]
however this is peculiar: