Hl-dt-st ca30n

vbimport

Hi Everyone,

Anyone got any suggestions to fix a HL-DT-ST CA30N?

For some reason i can burn every now and then but cannot read any CD’s, DVD’s or Blu-Rays.

I am only posting as i really do not wan’t to fork out for another drive as i am looking at replacing the machine.

It all started when i upgrade to Windows 10…

Yes i have done a format and reinstall.

Yes i am comfortable dismantling my laptop - I work in IT as a Computer Technician (well that’s my title more a system engineer company only want’s to pay at tech level to keep costs down).

i am willing to do firmware updates, registry mods, etc.

So a bit more info.
Yes I have checked and their is no filters. in Actual fact silly me most likely did more harm then good to the registry for cd drives.

The Drive in question only detects as a cd-rom drive in device manager. So if anyone could help me in getting this sorted or even reading Discs until such time i can afford to replace the laptop. (limited space cannot have desktop)

Aida64 Engineer:
Host ID LUN Device Type Vendor Model Rev Extra Information
00 02 00 Optical Drive HL-DT-ST DVDRWBD CA30N

Optical Drive Properties
Buffer Size 2 MB
Device Description CD-ROM Drive
Firmware Date 17/07/2009
Firmware Revision A102
Region Code 4
Remaining User Changes 4
Remaining Vendor Changes 4
Serial Number K0IB4R90249

Supported Disk Types
BD-R Read
BD-RE Read
BD-ROM Read
CD-R Read + Write
CD-ROM Read
CD-RW Read + Write
DVD+R Read + Write
DVD+R9 Dual Layer Read + Write
DVD+RW Read + Write
DVD+RW9 Dual Layer Not Supported
DVD-R Read + Write
DVD-R9 Dual Layer Read + Write
DVD-RAM Read + Write
DVD-ROM Read
DVD-RW Read + Write
DVD-RW9 Dual Layer Not Supported
HD DVD-R Not Supported
HD DVD-R Dual Layer Not Supported
HD DVD-RAM Not Supported
HD DVD-ROM Not Supported
HD DVD-RW Not Supported
HD DVD-RW Dual Layer Not Supported

Optical Drive Features
AACS Supported
BD CPS Not Supported
Buffer Underrun Protection Supported