Hi8 & Dig8 mm--> DVD NERO6 with NerovisionExpress3 video quality & audio sync problem

Hello I’m a newbie on CDFreaks and a pretty long time user of NERO6. This is a loaded post so my apologies for the length on my first outing here but I am stuck and I seek the advice of experts and appreciate your help greatly !

I have boxes of Hi8 and Digital 8 8mm family movies (dating back to 1992) that I have been converting to DVD using NERO6 and NeroVision Express 2. I have completed 40 or so DVDs and have a bunch more to go… I use Sony DCR TRV480 camcorder (plays 8mm analog and digital tapes) and a NEC 1394 firewire card and cable connected to the IBM computer. All has worked very well over the past year that we have been creating DVDs with chapters, etc., with fwe troubles (replaced 1394, etc)…

I have always, however, been a little bit disappointed at the ‘step down’ in video quality in creating the DVDs and playing them side by side with playing the 8mm tapes directly connected to the TV… I always chose DVD-Video in NeroVision Express 2 in capturing the video. I’m a bit picky as these are the videos of my kids and I want to preserve them to digital in as high quality as possible !

A week ago I downloaded NeroVision Express 3 (replaced NV Express 2) and we started using that SW to do this. On a recent digital tape conversion, the quality of the DVD copied video was considerably worse than I have ever seen. The images were not crisp and really lacked definition. I would say what we had before with NV Express 2 was at least ‘acceptable’; this is not… For the first time also, the audio on this tape was out of sync with the images (about halfway through the tape). On another tape the results were equally bad with less than VHS quality video - a real disappointment…