Hi! Help needed with recording mode info

:doh: I have been using a Sanyo DRW-500 DVD recorder for several years now. I know that a lot of people have had trouble with this old thing, but I am rather attached to it after all the hours I have recorded on it and all the timer settings I have placed. It doesn’t have any bells and whistles on it, but how many of us basic models do?
Anyway - I understand about the usual time that is found with recording modes: HQ = 1 hour, SP = 2 hours, etc. With the Sanyo I can get 1:28 in HQ, 2:28 in SP, etc. This has been great for slop time with timer settings, the few extra minutes on some movies {2:01, 2:04}. We bought a cheap, cheap, cheap CyberHome DVD recorder :o that will only, absolutely record 1 hour at HQ, 2 hours at SP - not even 1 minute over will it go. Can anyone explain this to me? Do other brands of DVD recorders record the way the Sanyo does? I need to buy a new recorder soon - do I just take my chances with a brand or is there a way I can tell about the recording modes? Is this something called compression ratio and can I figure this out for different brands? Will the discs I have recorded on the old Sanyo play on other brands - does disc speed come into this?
I know I’ve listed a lot of questions, but I would like to understand this before buying something cheap and wrong or expensive and wrong. Thanks from a newbie :flower:

Yes it sounds like a deliberate restriction on the record time of the Cyberhome, since other recorders will give you at least a few minutes over the standard 1hr, 2 hr etc.

The DVD-Video modes of a recorder allow the user to decide whether to go for the best possible picture quality, or select a lesser degree of quality while gaining more recording time. Irrespective of the selected recording mode, all recordings have to be DVD-Video compatible and be played on a DVD-Video player.

The standard recording modes are:

HQ - High Quality (1 hour per side)
720 x 576 pixels - 9.72 Mbit/sec VBR