Hi Everyone! Newbie here with a couple questions

Hi guys!! I found this forum about 2 days ago and I was hoping the dvd r/rw gods could help me. I currently have a Sony DW-D22 A dvd burner and a Sony DVD 1613/B2 DvD player. Both are OEM models I picked up from Newegg. Well I was having problems with my burner recognizing different kinds of media and constantly making coasters using Roxio 7.5 media center so I looked around and read about the Lite-on rebadge and what not. Well to make a long story short I first tried upgrading the firmware to BSY3 with no help and then tried the cross-flash rebadge technique and now it’s just dead d**k in the water. I also tried updating the firmware on the DvD player and it looks fried to. I’m not completely computer illiterate and felt comfortable in doing this. So my I want to purchase a new burner and player and wanted to know what you guys would recommend. I was looking at these 2 from newegg and they both were recieving decent reviews and were nicely priced and I want to go retail at least on my burner so I can recieve tech support and would have a warranty if I needed it.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustRatingReview.asp?Item=N82E16827106988 or http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustRatingReview.asp?Item=N82E16827140008 and any info on a decent DvD player would be appreciated.

Thanx in advance…

The Liteon I think is a fair choice but not the HP one. You pay through the nose for HP & Sony badged products when for DVD burners at least they are rebadged from another manufacturer.

Consider also the Benq 1640, those from the LG range (my 4163B is excellent). Maybe also the Pioneer 110D.

I’m sure other here will add some further options.

I would recomend a benq 1640 or an nec 3540/3550. Liteon burners are ok and have some advantages, but if it’s the only burner in a system, the benq or nec would be much beter.

Also, you can often recover liteon drives from a bad firmware flash.