Hey, im a noob with some extra cash

vbimport

Hey guys, well like the title says, im a noob when it comes to DVD burners basically, so many brands and models i dont know what to do. Well anyway to the point, ive been needing for a new DVD burner for a while now cause im stuck with a NEC something or other 13? But it burns at like 8x max and can only burn like one type of disk. So does anyone have a suggestion for a DVD burner that is nice, can burn at 16x both DvD±r? Thanks, i was trying to get a NEQ DW1655 but then i saw how they are notoriuous for just…dying, not only that but haulted manufacturing, so im a bit confused now. Thanks in advance!
also, i would like to keep it in the $100 range, but a little over would still be okay.

Moving this to the Optical Drives forum.

Well, I just purchased and have been using the Pioneer 111D. I have been very impressed with the quality of the burns. The problem, it is not the best scanner out there but it is very reasonably priced at around $30 U.S. With your left over $70 or so you could buy a second drive, say a Lite-on that has a long standing reputation for being incredible readers/scanners and you get two drives. :bigsmile:

BenQ drives seem to have a great reputation as both burners and reader/scanners but as you noted they are haulting their production so it may be difficult or impossible to find one.

I am sure others members here could guild you with a single drive that can serve as a good or great all purpose burner. Whatever you end up getting stop in and let us know how it works for you.

What SudaWilde said!

Oh, i apologize for posting in the wrong section. Also, thanks for your replies but i think i would rather just go with one drive that can do both. I dont really know why, but it seems like it would just be less of a hassle i guess, if you disagree with this, why? Im still unsure, thanks.