Help

I have LITE-ON DVDRW SHW-165P6S that was not recognizing a DVD when I put it in. I did a search last night to try and update the firmware and decided to just try one at random. Well after I did that it changed to LITE-ON DVDRW SHM-165P6S. I am new to all this and am not sure what to do. Can someone please walk me through the process?? Thank you in advance for all the help. :a

[QUOTE=tk7433;1942278]I have LITE-ON DVDRW SHW-165P6S that was not recognizing a DVD when I put it in. I did a search last night to try and update the firmware and decided to just try one at random. Well after I did that it changed to LITE-ON DVDRW SHM-165P6S. I am new to all this and am not sure what to do. Can someone please walk me through the process?? Thank you in advance for all the help. :a[/QUOTE]

So did you already do the firmware flash or not?? What do you mean “try one at random”??? The process should have a explaination from the liteon site when you go there explaining how it does it if not the flash software will instruct you as you go about flashing. caution don’t have any software open or running when flashing or have suddenly restart as this kill the flash process rendering your drive void of warranty. And with other programs running will cause system resource conflicts with the flash software aborting the process causing you to have a nonfunctioning drive thus rending again the warranty void. There some discussion on the forum of users reflashing a bad flash device but you probably have to talk to them how that process went. But if you check the liteon global site for the firmware and make of your model they should have the link and firmware to update your drive.

[QUOTE=tk7433;1942278]I have LITE-ON DVDRW SHW-165P6S that was not recognizing a DVD when I put it in. I did a search last night to try and update the firmware and decided to just try one at random.[/QUOTE] Well that’s a fairly daring choice, don’t you think?